By popular request, Pinterest has given accounts holders the ability to add up to three ‘secret’ boards at any one time. When you add a pin to a secret board, it won’t show up anywhere else on Pinterest—not in the category sections, Popular, Everything, anyone’s search results, your followers’ home feed, your own home feed, or even pins or activity pages on your profile. You can see the ‘secret boards’ at the bottom of your list of boards on your profile: you invite contributors as you would a public board – and they can recommend the board creator to invite others – but contributors can only be approved or removed by the creator.
What could ‘Secret Boards’ be used for? Some obvious uses:
Can you think of more?
I’d be remiss in my job if I didn’t of course point out to Pinterest that there are far less savoury reasons for a group to want to get together and share images – but Pinterest assures us that it will monitor secret boards for “objectionable” content banned by its terms of service, much the same way it does public boards. We’ll see.
One point worth bearing in mind, and which Pinterest have been at pains to stress through their communications on secret boards: what goes on in a secret board won’t always necessarily stay in a secret board. The board creator can make the board visible to everyone at any time, without permission from other collaborators. If you don’t want your pins and other activity to be visible to all, then you can remove yourself from the board at any time:
1. Go to your profile by clicking on your name at the top-right toolbar on Pinterest.
2. Click the Edit button underneath the board you want to leave.
3. Find your name on the list of “Who can pin?” and click the “Leave” button to the right of your name.
When you leave a group board that you did not create:
Watch out though:
If you’d like more information about Pinterest and how you could use it for your brand, see our guides: